Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Various conditions in different regions might lead to a discrepant option on whether subsidize roads and highways or public transportation. Well, I hold the view that spending money on the former one might be a better choice according to my experience I will illustrate this assertion with reasons by the conjuction of economic development, the employment rate and citizens' lives.

First and foremost, the improvement of roads and highways might be more efficient to the development of economy in a city. Initially, the enhancement of the roads makes the transportation from others cities more rapidly, correspondingly attracting more trucks and wares importing towards our cities. Furthermore, the convenience of the highways might be another attraction to enterprises and investors to pay more attention on our cities' progression and invest their money to the industrial districts. Compared with the economic advantages which are brought by spending money on public transportation, such as the efficiency of the commute, ways to improve highways and roads, combining the income from more import and the potential economic proliferation bringing about by investment, is better.

Also, from the employment rate aspect, investment on roads and highways shows more benefits on employment. The expansion of the economy growth might lead to an industrial enlargement such as the mass production and new factories founded. So there is a corresponding increasing demand on workers and directors for those production and manufactories. Apparently, this approach will decrease the unemployment rate and also attract more employees from other cities to work here.

Last but not least, the recreation will be more various if the highways towards other places are more time-saving. In the past, if individuals are likely to cost 2 hours to go to a place of interest located in an adjacent area, in all likelihood, people would not spend that much of time to entertain themselves. But, nowadays, with the development and perfect of the highways, people are able to not only spend their time to nearby famous places but also can have meals or go camping to other cities only in half an hour. Indeed, subsidizing the roads and highways provide more entertainment with citizens.

All in all, surging economy, higher employment rate and abundant recreation are the three main reasons why I choose the former option, to invest the roads and highways.