Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Government holds the responsibility to access the requisites of the society and allot its budget. However, when it comes to allocation of budget, there is always a controversy as to whether to allot it to a particular department or other. Some may support the fact that Government should spend more money for the art sector whereas some others may say that Governement should spend more for athletics. I support the later group which I will substantiate in the following essay.

First and foremost, art is the field that speak about the culture and tradition of a state/country. Art is a form of creativity and tradition that is unique to every region of a country. This uniqueness and purity should be preserved to uplift the interest as well as the life of the artists. People in the art sector are not paid well. I personally saw many of the regional arts like street plays, country music and instruments slowly deteriorate in my country. These were the ancient regional art forms of my native village. Due to poverty, those people had started looking for other jobs and the art forms doesn’t even exist.

Besides that, there is growing ignorance among the present generation to preserve the ancient art forms. The government should spend considerable amount of funds to preserve the ancient paintings and sculptures. Lot of ancient sculptures are deteriorating slowly due to environmental factors, lack of maintenance and funds. It is the sole responsibility of the government to preserve these valuable treasures. The government should conduct various exhibitions to preserve the ancient art forms, concerts to encourage the traditional , native country music. The exposure and encouragement through the exhibitions and concerts will bring those art forms and artists to limelight.

Secondly, athletics such as state sponsored Olympic programs bring lot of pride not only to the players but also to the country. But , they get lot of sponsorships from the non government organisations like shoe or energy drink companies. These fundraisers not only sponsor the tournaments but also for the players.

In conclusion , Government holds the responsibility to support both art and sports activities. Athletics such as state sponsored sport events are sponsored by lot of non government organisations and get recognition from the media as well. So the art formation groups require more support in terms of fund from the government.