Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are

The exponential growth of marketing world demands high quality production and their highly attractive advertisements to attract the consumers. When questioned about the marketing strategy some people especially, the product owners may argue that the advertisements just portray their product as it is, while some others may disagree. In my opinion, most of the advertisements are merely an exaggerating of the reality to lure the consumers.

Advertisements are expected to increase the product’s market value and hence most of them try to portray their products as the best ever available. With this notion of attracting people, they hire famous actors, musicians or a famous sports person. The people get attracted to these celebrities easily and they think the product will make them better. Often, people are not wise enough to judge the quality of the product. For instance, an advertisement in television depicts a beauty pageant with beautiful complexion portraying how in an overnight she developed a fair skin after using the beauty cream. This attracted most of my friends including me to purchase the product but we never found any difference even after using it for many weeks.

The ostentatious display of a sports car drove by a famous sports person lured many of the viewers to buy similar one. The most important features also become imperceptible when these famous people appear in the advertisements. Moreover, the health drinks shown in advertisements depict that these drinks make kids taller, stronger and sharper. However, in reality, the results are not impeccable. Most of the advertisements make us astound and exclaim the product but the question remains unanswered whether they really do so. The survey conducted by the marketing students of IOWA university, showed that people are more attracted to the advertisements portrayed by kids, followed by celebrities. Since kids watch these advertisements more, most of the edibles and toy ads are targeted with this motive by adding some attractive music and cartoon characters.

Admittedly, the advertisements definitely enable us to chose among the wide range of products. They even advertise the product features, key ingredients and their novelty.

To sum up, I feel the advertisements though very informative, are most often an exaggeration of the reality. The growing competition in the marketing field certainly needs the attraction o the consumers which demands these highly captivating advertisements.