Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

To agree or disagree with the statement that movies and television have negative effects than postitive effects on the way young people behave brings a controversial debate because of its pros and cons. Movies and television has tremendous impact these days on young people as they spend lot of their free time in front of the television. I, however believe that they have a significant negative impact on young people than the positive effect.

First of all, kids spend their off time watching movies and television. They get easily lured by the television and do not develop any skills or hobbies. They are attracted by the reel life heroes and dream of a life that may not exist in reality. Most of the movies portray the hero as a bravo, the one who constantly fight against the enemy. This unnecessary sows violence and hatred as a heroic behaviour. Nowadays, many kids watch WWF in television, which in turn, brings lot of hatred and enmity among their peers.

Besides, television and movies always consume lot of time which may later affect their grades in the school or university. The student may remain a couch potato watching the television series without learning the lessons or skills. This also affects their communication with the friends and family. This reduces their participation in physical activities like sports and excercise leading to obesity. The proclivity towards television and movies prevents them from learning new hobbies too.

Media depicts certain music shows and video jockeys as a most important profession in the world by advsertising them again and again. This in turn kindle the interests of some young people to think those trivial things as life and go behind only those jobs vividly even though they are not proficient in those fields. Recently, I met my uncle whose son left his studies to participate in a music concert and later got rejected in the show as well. He lost one academic year in this dilemma.

The young people in my community imitate the reel life heroes and heroines in the way they dress up, talk, behave and walk. The advertisements portrayed by their hero force them to buy those products, which in turn impact the economy of the family as well.