Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Website.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Looking at the present day scenario, there are lot of controversial debates over parenting habits. I strongly support the notion that educating children has become more tough these days than in the past. I would like to substantiate my opinion in the following essay.

First and foremost, the growing technology and introduction of gadgets at a very early age had created a significant impact on the children. These days, children often spend time on cell phones, online games or social networking website as they find lot of amusement only in these social gadgets and media. This not only affects their time and concentration but also affect their physical and mental health. A recent survey in Harvard university on primary school children reported that the level of exposure of cell phones or video games directly affected the educational performance of the children which reflected on their exams and ultimately those students with more exposure obtained very low grades.

Secondly, the kids too strongly pressurize their parents to purchase their favorite video games. For example, my nephew who is fourth grade wanted to have a video game after his friends in school bullied him for not knowing the game. Finally when he got one for himself, he spent all his productive timing in playing that game and lost his grades. These social media and gadgets draw their attention completely by draining their energy, diverting their focus away from learning and reading books. Moreover, these electronic products keep the children's expectations high and always expect them to have new things and make them live in fantasy.

I would like to conclude by saying that the cell phones and social media had altogether challenged the parenting habits and made it tougher as they physically and mentally drain the energy of the children. They diverts their concentration away from their studies and affect their performance.