Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Government holds the responsibility to provide not only the basic amenities but also the advanced technological facilities like the internet. Some may support the fact that the government should spend more on internet facilities as it is a bulletin of resources. However I support the fact that more money is required for public transportation.

First of all, safe and easy access of public transportation is the basic necessity of the well being of people. More money is required for maintaining the quality of the public transport like buses and trains. As they serve as a main mode of commute for students and people who go for work. More vehicles are required to accommodate the growing population. Especially around peak hours, most of the public transport are over crowded which makes it difficult especially for the students and the old people. However if the government provides more fund to increase the number of vehicles, it will benefit most of the population. Most people when they rely on public transport, will not depend on their personal vehicles. This in turn will reduce the traffic and pollution of the environment.

Besides this, there are lot of new public transport modes like mono rails and metro rails which facilitate easy, fastest and convenient commute between places. A clean and fast public transport helps the people to reach their destination of work promptly without delay as the traffic can be considerably less when more people start using the public transportation. The student concession passes provided in my country for the poor students enable many of them to study without worrying about the transportation.

However, with the plenty of resources available in internet, faster access may be beneficial for students to learn online classes, business people to manage their transactions and all the companies to execute their works. In the current era of technology, internet is slowly becoming an essential entity in every household. However, many villages which are devoid of such facilities may require support from the government.

The Government has to allot its budget considering the importance and the need of the hour. I feel though internet access require financial support, public transportation is a basic requirement of the general public and it requires more funding and support from the government.