43, Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

1)Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

2)Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

3)Say nothing

Some of the basic etiquettes should be followed when someone attends a meeting. For instance, few people may support the idea of interrupting in middle of the meeting while their superior say something incorrect, whereas some may support the thought of pointing out their mistake after the meeting is over or say nothing. I strongly support the fact that it is better to wait until the meeting is over.

First of all, the teacher or any meeting leader must have been an expert in a particular field and have a better experience in that. They would have prepared well for the speech aand would have been speaking confidently. Interrupting the speech or lecture in middle may be considered a impolite behaviour and may unnecessarily annoy them. However, if an individual wait till the end of the speech to convey his thoughts even though it is incorrect may be more appropriate as it doesn’t infuriate the speaker. In my opinion, that is a more polite and humble way to correct someone’s mistakes.

Besides that, conveying the thoughts when it is incorrect may disrupt the normal flow of the lecture or meeting. The speaker may miss the flow of his speech and the topic be diverted elsewhere. The person who conveys his opinion earns the respect of the teacher or meeting leader. For example, when I attended a meeting with my colleagues, a friend of mine interrupted the meeting in the middle which not only provoked the anger of my superior official but also the other people attending the meeting. Later on, the rage reflected negatively on his appraisal for the inappropriate behaviour. However, if he would have conveyed politely at the end of the meeting, it would have been considered more respectful.

Admittedly, conveying the mistakes in the middle of meeting when it is going in a wrong direction will save lot of time and energy. On the other hand, some people remain silent for whatever happens around them, though this sounds very diplomatic, is not advisable.

To wrap it up, I reckon the fact that waiting patiently and conveying things at the appropriate time is the most polite way to give the feedback to a superior authority. While interrupting the meeting may annoy the teacher or lawyer, saying nothing is also not very ideal.