Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are differing opinions on whether the government should spend more money in support of the arts or athletics. Some people argue that it is the arts should be developed by the funds of the government, for they believe the arts can bring joy to their lives. Other people, however, think that athletics need more financial support from the government because the athletes would bring honor to the country if they win the Olympic games. I, myself, agree with the latter one as the advantage of supporting athletics outweighs the arts by the following reasons.

In the first place, the champion of the Olympic games brings honor to the country let alone the athlete him/herself. But it is well-known that to win the Olympic games is far more difficult for the athletes. There is a fat chance for the country to cultivate prominent athletes if the government does not try its utmost to nurture the athlete and their team with considerable investment. Such as offering a decent and well-functioned training field, hiring the best and professional coaches. With such a better environment and equipment, it is more likely to witness the advent of the world champion in the Olympic games.

Secondly, financial support of the government, if the training facilities and fields could open to the public, will not only benefit the athletes, but also the local. Since the athlete is chosen from the public through fierce competition, the proportion of excellent athletes is equal to the public that gets involved in the sport. The public is given access to the resource, which offers them the opportunity to get to know some Olympic sports and how to take exercise. As a result, it would be a benign cycle of human recourse in sport

Thirdly, with the development of economy, the arts have played a role in people’s daily lives. Considering the arts can enhance the life quality, improve the ability to appreciate beauty, and allow the individual experience more of the world, it would be so hard to keep the arts away from our lives and it is possible that the arts could be alienated without the support from the government. However, the arts are not a common thing for most people when compare with sports. It is less difficult for people to watch a game or participate in a sports activity than appreciate some artworks in an art exhibition. The fruit of devotion of money would be faster and effective than the arts. I have reason to believe the government prefers to see the result in a quick way.

To sum up, spending more money on the Olympic team would exert influence on the country in a better way. No matter the position of sport in the world or the health of the public, I have reason to believe it is worthy of investing more money to the athletics rather than the arts.