Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People might be buried in deep thought when they intially see the statement that whether the ability to sustain friendships with a small group of people over a long period of time is much more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Some would argue as it is the commonly accepted truth that it is abusolutely that the ability to sustain friendships with a small group of people over a long period of time is much more important for happiness. Others, however, hold an opposite view that the the ability to make many new friends easily is more important. There are more merits than demerits to choose the latter point. I will take a closer look at the statement and give my reasons.

The first and foremost point is that making friedns easily can expand one’s scoial cirle increasingly. With a lot of friends, it is more likely for you to be successful. For example, one of my college classmates, Lucy, has created her own company with her friends. She has made a considerable amount of friends all over the world from the Internet. Leveraging the friend resoureces, she has been a millionare since the company established. Since then, she has a happier and wealthier life. Therefore, friends can bring you a lot of benefits as well as happiness.

Another point worth mentioning is that it is demanding for one is able to make friends easily. In oder to make a lot of new friends, you have to be outgoing and friendly. As we all know that with these two characteristics, it woule be less difficult to overcome obstacles. We do not feel happy because we have many problems in our lives, such as bad relationship with our girlfriends or boyfriends, poor financial condition. Thus, if you can have so many friends, you can ask for them help and get numerious ideas from them. As an old saysing goes, there are three walking on the road, I am sure that I can learn something among them. With this quality, one is capable of solving many problems and obtain happiness in the end.

Further lending credence to my position that the more friends you have, the more happiness you have. Different people have different hobbies and interests. As a result, it is fancinating to have a varitey of friends. Without any doubt, you will get a lot fun when you are with these friends. For instance, one of your friends is an artist, then you will develop your ability of appreciating beauty.

All in all, I have no choice but to reiterate my point that I think is more important to make many new friends