Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Going to museums and looking at works of art is something I enjoy doing. But I believe that governments should concentrate on funding athletes in their quests for Olympic glory much more than they should be paying artists.

For one thing, the athletes at the Olympics represent our country, so we should support them as much as possible. By winning Olympic gold, an athlete can bring glory and honor to all of the people in the country, not just him or her. I know that I personally feel a sense of pride when someone from my country wins a gold, silver, or bronze medal. Even though I did not do anything myself, it makes me feel proud to see one of my countrymen competing and winning. For the sake of honor, it is imperative that we support our country's Olympic athletes.

The best athletes in the world compete at the Olympics, so we need to send our own country's best athletes to face them. They can only achieve victory, however, if they have enough funds to train properly. Training for the Olympics is not cheap. Teams and athletes need special facilities and equipment, and the coaches and staff members need to receive salaries for their work. Since there are few competitions throughout the year for paying customers to attend, governments need to provide the necessary money for these athletes. This will enable them to train year-round and to reach their potential.

It is also important to remember that most Olympic athletes are amateurs and therefore receive salaries. It is incumbent upon the government to fund them on behalf of the sacrifices they are making. A typical Olympic athlete spends years in training. I read an article about how many of them spend time away from their schools, friends, and families just to train for Olympic glory. Some even spend their own money, which is something that they simply should not have to do. The government should reward their sacrifices by subsidizing the costs of their training.

While the arts are important, the Olympics should take priority when it comes to funding because the team represents the nation, it requires the best training, and the athletes need to be supported for their sacrifices. Glory comes with a high price, and that is one that the government should meet.