Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether governments should invest more in arts or athletics is highly debatable. Different people will give different responses to this issue from their own characters, emotional concerns and even educational backgrounds. However, when it comes to me, governments should certainly spend more money in support of athletics for the following reasons.

To begin with, investment in athletics may potentially improve the honor of the state in people's mind. Athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams is a substantial figure that represents the spirit of the state. Knowing that the government is willing to invest in them, the teams will exert themselves in the exercise and strive for victory in the game. And when they achieve that, it will be an honor not only for the team, but also people of the state.

What's more, investment in athletics has always been more lucrative than that in the arts. As mentioned above, the investment substantially magnifies the chance the team will win the game. If they obtain that goal, the team, or at least some of its members will rise to fame, like a hero of the state. Not only his or her own value will soar, he or she can elicit a surge of advertisements, which is significantly profitable. On the other hand, the arts is more personal, less about material interests. For example, you have never seen a virtuoso in any milk advertisement. Hence, it is self-evident that there is more benefit in investing in athletics.

Admittedly, the arts apparently plays a crucial role of which athletics can hardly take place. Some people attach great importance to the joy of harmony when they are listening to a symphony of Beethoven. And some are absorbed in the impact that Van Gogh's masterpiece have on their mind. Nevertheless, bringing about the appreciation of the combination of strength and beauty, athletics also serves as a spiritual satisfaction for many people. Therefore, athletics is no less important than the arts in this facet.

On balance, with all the factors contemplated, we can safely reach a conclusion that governments should invest more in athletics than in the arts.