The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Mozart School of Music Web site's argument offers an interesting view that their school should be the first choice for parents to consider enrolling their child in music lessons for seemingly sound reasons. However, there are some obvious flaws in the argument's ratiocination, and thus its proposal requires a closer look.

To begin with, the argument delivers its view by stating the nonexistence of auditions or any prerequisites of students. But it should be noticed that there is no relevance between this fact and the quality of Mozart School's pedagogical standard, which is believed to be more concerned by the parents. What's more, many students who want to matriculate in a music school should possess some skills about at least one kind of music instruments, and that the Mozart School has no audition actually suggests unevenness among the students, which may not gratify the parents.

The argument also backs its proposal by claiming that the school provide a large variety of musical instruments and styles and genres. While it is true that this proffers a wide range of selections for students, it fails to demonstrate the speciality of the school in certain kinds of instruments and styles. And most students will choose only one form each. Therefore, this statement of variety does not back the site's proposal effectively.

Claiming that the faculty includes some most well-known musicians, the site implies that the school can offer the best education in the area. However, the validity of this claim is unknown. Maybe these musicians only allow the school to add their name to the faculty, but never show up in the campus. Even if they do show up, there is no evidence suggesting that a master must be good at teaching. So this claim, unfortunately, is a invalid point.

Finally, the site suggests that if the students choose to attend their school, they are more likely to be successful as many graduates have been. Even if what it says about the graduates proves authentic, it does not guarantee the achievement of any certain student. A school will always has some outstanding graduates, as well as many ordinary ones. So individual success has more to do with personal diligence.

In sum, the website's argument cannot provide a safe base for its proposal. To attract more students and their parents, it may benefit from underscoring the quality of pedagogical methods and the environment the school can offer.