Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Throughout history, leaders of our country has had a keen interest in the development of the country.

In spite of this, there is a recent debate among people on the allocation of federal budget on the specific area it should be covered on. Some group of people suggests the upgrading of art museum, however, other groups may take the opposite view. From my standpoint, I firmly believe that government should support the state-sponsored Olympics games more than arts for the following reasons which are elaborated here below.

To begin with, Government sponsored games creates enthusiasm for the youth to develop great interest in sports. When Government sponsor the young to engage in various games, it develops their mindset of becoming someday a professional in that area. For instance, when my uncle was in high school, he consistently joined the soccer team in school, playing with his team and also engaging in competition with other schools and across the country. He ended up been the best professional player in the country and these availed him the opportunity to advertise for many companies such as Globacom, Coca Cola, to mention but a few. This is because of the unrelenting efforts of the government in supporting the youths by providing them with recognized and well trained coaches, medical assistance and most importantly sponsoring some of the best players in their advancement to college degree.

In addition, it creates an avenue for countries to form alliances. This is a very good approach for countries to support and share some benefits among themselves. My country is a compelling example. In 1996, Nigeria played the world Olympic Games in Switzerland and triumphantly won the game with ten golds, 15 silvers and ten bronze. It was an unspeakable success that promoted the country’s name and fame. The government of Switzerland began to form an alliance with the government of Nigeria, in exchange for good and services and primarily in granting scholarships to students who which to travel out to future their education.

In conclusion, genuine interest among the youths toward sports and the countries forming alliances are some of the reasons why I believe that government should support state-sponsored Olympics teams.