Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Grades are the basement of education: they enable to classify every student according to his level and to have an overview about the degree of comprehension of the class. Consequently, they encourage students to learn.

First, grades force students to learn because they know they will be evaluated at the end of the course. Even if a course does not interest the student, he will have somehow to learn a minimum about the course if he does not want to have a catastrophic grade. For example, when I was a child, I did not like history because I found it boring, but I had to learn dates and events in order to have an average grade. Without grades, students would only learn what interest them and they would not have an overview of the world.

On the other hand, some courses may interest students: having grades stimulates them because it is a way to evaluate level of comprehension, either for the student or the teacher. Putting a mark at the end of a course allows the student to know if he understood well the subject and its complexity, otherwise he will be convinced that he has understood it even if it is not the case. Consequently, if the student realizes that his grade is not as good as he thought, he will go back to his errors trying to understand what he missed during his learning and he will be encouraged to do better.

Finally, having grades raises a kind of competition spirit within the class that encourages students to give their best in order to have a mark as high as possible. Rating students enables them to challenge themselves and therefore, when they succeed to obtain a great mark, they feel valuated and more self-confident. Thus, they want more of that feeling and they continue to learn in order to reproduce this model.

To conclude, grades encourage students to learn because it forces the one who do not want to learn, it stimulates the one who are interested in some subjects and raises a competition spirit which lead students to learn more.