Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Grades encourage students to learn.” Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion."

The first pivotal reason is that there is always the possibility of cheating on exams. To be more specific, nowadays with a rapid growth of technology, students are able to cheat through many innovative methods such as internet applications and gain great scores. While, some other students that rely on themselves and study hard for the exams, may get lower grades. Thus, it is not a impartial course of action to consider grades as an encouragement for students. Take my personal experience as a compelling example, a couple of years ago it was an announcement that school is going to choose one person as a candidate for math competition in the city. So all the students took mathematic exam at high school. During the exam my teacher left the class for an emergency call and one of my classmates started cheating. Although I put all my efforts for the exam and studied hard, I was the only person who got the worst score in the class. On the other hand my friend get the best score and was encouraged by the teacher. Had she not cheated on the exam, she would not have been chosen for the competition.

The second worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that some students may get stressed out on the exam. In this line of thought, competition between students lead to some negative consequences rather than positive results. Because students will focus on the grade instead of learning. As a result, it would be a demanding pressure on them that they cannot cope with. That is why some students fail on exam although they may study hard. According to a research conducted between two different schools in Iran, it has been reported that more than seventy percent of students in the first school in which the grade was not a crucial criteria, were more enthusiastic to learn and had a better performance on learning process. On the contrary the second group in which grades were accentuated, more than forty percent of students suffered from anxiety disorder and were not capable of controlling their stress. Consequently, they failed on exams and become disappointed. Not only have students become less prosperous on their exams but also they had become more disappointed and some of them preferred to quit school.

Taking all above reasons and examples into account, I do believe that it is not a good idea to take scores as an encouragement for students to learn due to the possibility of cheating between students. Besides, some students may be disturbed on their exams.