Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In the school, grading has been the most common method as an evaluation to understand the learning performance of students. Some people believe grades can encourage students to learn more actively; however, some people disagree with this idea. In my view, I agree with this statement for two reasons.

First of all, students care about the performance they did, and grading is a clear way to show their learning results. Knowing the performance of self is a crucial part of learning. When we get clear and positive feedback such as the scores from grading, we will have the feeling of encouragement and accomplishment. For example, when I was a high school student, I was not confident in math at all. I was afraid to be asked questions by math teacher and did not realize my ability of math. After announcing the scores of the first mid-exam, I got a great result, and it is higher than average scores up to 30 degrees. This experience encouraged me very much, because of the grades, I realized I could make an excellent performance as long as I took enough efforts.

Secondly, grades can make the atmosphere of competition, and students will do their best to compete with others. Take my cousin as an example, when he was in junior high school, he was later than other classmates to learn English. Therefore, his family is worried about his performance in school. However, making everyone surprised, he got the first prize in his class when graduating. The reason that he could learn so well was the furious competition for the grading scores in his class. To exceed other classmates, my cousin study very hard and searched for additional resources on the Internet, especially his weakness, English. He said he was very excited about every test in the school because there were the opportunities for him to show his ability. If there were no grading and the furious competition in his class, my cousin would not have such pretty performance in the school.

In conclusion, based on the argument above, I strongly believe grades can encourage students to learn more actively. Since grading can be as a useful and clear feedbacks of student's performance and stimulate competitions among learners, students would be encouraged to perform well and study hard in class.