Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Because of the improvement of the Internet and technology, human's life and working style have changed mostly in contrast to the past. As a result, I strongly agree with the statement that young people in the present are better able to make decisions to make decisions about their lives than in the past. There are two reasons I will explore in the following essays.

First of all, the Internet helps young people access valuable knowledge which was hard to be reached in the past. On the Internet, young people can conveniently learn new expertise and acquire higher education certificates with low costs. For example, the massive open course platforms, which integrate many courses and programs from different international universities, offer the opportunities for people to achieve academic programs from top universities such as UC Berkeley and Stanford. Therefore, nowadays young people over the world can use the resources to cultivate their career skills and change their lives by themselves.

Secondly, nowadays young people can receive much more resources over the world. Since the improvement of technology builds an open environment, people in the present can rapidly access and share ideas and information on the Internet. It means that chances and resources in the world can be distributed far and evenly on earth. To take my brother as an example, he was a sales in my country, which are small and compete in a private market. Through searching on the Internet, my brother found the chances to cooperate with a European country in a project. After the collaboration for one year, my brother successfully obtains the offer from the company and works abroad. If he was in the past, it was impossible to contact a foreign company in Taiwan on his own. The example illustrates how young people can make decisions on their own lives by obtaining more resources and information in the present.

In conclusion, I believe young people are better able to make decisions about their lives. Because of the development of technology and the Internet, young people can access valuable knowledge and search out resources much more easily in the present world.