Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes it is better not to tell the truth. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Telling the truth always is seen as moral behavior. When we were young, people always told us the story, "Washington cut the cherry tree," and encourage us to be an honest person. However, I think that telling the truth is not always appropriate. On the contrary, in some situation, it will be better when we behave oppositely. There are two reasons I will explore in the following essays.

First of all, telling the truth sometimes ruins the atmosphere in a conversation. Since people do not like the disagreement and judgment, saying the real opinion of our own would be risky in a discussion. Take my family dinners as examples, people who behaved too honest has made the furious arguments many times. In one of our recent family parties, my uncle made a discussion about the presidential election which was approaching in these months. However, my aunt, who is the supporter of the opposite party, gave a critical judgment on my uncle's opinions. The atmosphere at the party became embarrassed then more and more nervous. In the end, the debate turned into a terrible fight, and we stopped the party in a sad ending. This experience demonstrates that exposing the actual opinion in some situation would ruin a conversation.

Secondly, it is difficult to explain a truth thoroughly, and others might misunderstand us. Sometimes when we make a decision, we consider several aspects of the event. It might be hard for other people to understand how complicated the problem we met, and they would judge the things in their perspectives. For example, there was one time that my friend asked me for accompanying her because she lost her family member recently. But, after that day, I had a big assignment needed to hand out. Too worried about her, I chose to be the side of my friend and could not finish the homework on time. In the class, I told my teacher the truth, but she could not accept this reason and thought it was just the excuse for the delay. Therefore, after this experience, I prefer giving the reasons which are allowed all the time rather than telling the truth.

In conclusion, I believe that sometimes it is better not to tell the truth. Based on my experience, sometimes telling the truth would be risky in some situations and make ourselves misunderstood by others.