Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Every student wants good grades in academics. But it is the preparation for the exam that makes the difference. In my opinion, how the student prepared for the exam to get good grades is something that encourages or does not affect the student at all.

Some students get good grades with less preparation, whereas others work hard to achieve them. Those who put less effort and good grades make this a habit and do only the last time preparation. As a consequence, because of less time available, they either briefly go through each and every topic or prepare some important topics and leave others completely untouched, and despite this, they get good grades. So, in this case, they are encouraged to study less rather than studying more.

However, on the other hand, students who work hard and prepare seriously for the end exams are encouraged to learn. They understand the topic in-depth. In other words, they look for the logic and idea behind any concept. Thus, achieving good grades by this type of preparation encourages them to continue this type of studying in future and keep getting good grades. For example, until 6th grade, I was an average student at the school. But that year, I got interested in some of the subjects such as Mathematics and General Science. So, I studied those subjects regularly, and in the annual exams, I got the highest marks in my class in both the subjects. This motivated me to keep up this performance. Today, I am pursuing the Engineering field which is the mixture of Mathematics and Science.

In conclusion, I think that the important thing than good grades is that how student prepared to get good grades in the exams. If they prepare seriously, then they will be encouraged to learn, otherwise, they will not.