Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I do not completely agree with the statement that we should use printed material rather than online information while doing research work. Today, students in most of the universities and college around the globe are required to submit some sort of research work or project as part of the curriculum. Research works are generally focussed towards modifying the existing works, analyzing the latest developments in that area and predicting their application. Using only printed materials has some advantages as well as some disadvantages

First, printed materials are not always up-to-date. In other words, even the famous research journals who frequently receive research papers from various sources publish them after several months or sometimes may take a year to print a new volume. For example, when I was doing my research work, I found out that most of the latest developments in that area were not available in printed form; rather it was easily available in the websites of the various journals. Therefore, it is better to check about the latest developments from the internet before starting the research work.

However, using printed materials generally ensures the reader that the mentioned information is taken from a reliable source, whereas while referring to the information present on the internet one must be careful about the reliability of that source because, nowadays, even amateurs who are not the experts of the subject, post some critical information on the internet. If these pieces of information would be used in the research work, then the work would not be credible.

Thus I would recommend using both printed material as well as online information while doing research work. Printed materials provide the basic information in any subject that one would require while doing research, and reliable online sources tell us about the latest developments in that subject. It is clear that having both the things would certainly make the work more fruitful both for the writer as well as society in future developments.