Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans have completely changed their way of living. Early human beings lived in caves and hunted animals for food, whereas now we live in a developed world where animals and crops are grown by some farmers and this is then transferred to other urban areas. So, I think for making the above change we have damaged the ecosystem in a crucial way.

First, human activities have destroyed the natural habitat of many species. In order to develop urban areas and increase the agriculture area for more crops production, many forests areas have been cut down thus reducing the home of animals. As a result, many species started declining in numbers. This scenario was further exacerbated by hunting done by humans for fun, adventure, or desire. Some of the species even became extinct.

Second, humans have exploited the natural resources to the point of exhaustion. A study concluded that by 2030 the natural resource of fossil fuels will be empty, and that’s why electric cars are being developed. The fossil fuels that we used took millions of years to form and will soon be exhausted. Moreover, the use of these fuels released harmful greenhouse gases which not only takes lives of the hundreds of thousands of people every year but is causing global warming too. Another exploited resource is coal which is used to produce the major percentage of electricity consumed worldwide, and this has also contributed to the pollution of the environment we live in.

Lately, however, people have understood these problems caused us and now an intense research is being carried out to find alternate non-conventional renewable sources of energy such as solar energy, wind energy, ocean thermal energy, etc. Nevertheless, wars and nuclear bombs are still destroying our ecosystem and if not stopped might be the cause of the extinction of humans and other species too.

In conclusion, I agree that human activities have inevitably proven good for humans themselves but not for the environment and other species living on this planet. They have destroyed natural habitat, exhausted the natural resources, polluted the environment, and has caused global warming one of the biggest problem currently for humans survival.