The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We live in an era where government in chosen by people. People elect the person or party who will lead them. So if a government does not work efficiently then people have the right to complaint and, if it is too severe, can elect other person or party replacing previous one. Therefore, I believe, that citizens constant questions to the government keeps the politicians in check, and the system work properly because if they don't then might be removed from that position. But, if a government is working for the benefit of its peoples, irrelevant complaining can discourage and dishearten the politicians, which will ultimately affect the growth of the country.

For instance, suppose a group is unhappy with the working of the system they elected, because they did not fulfilled the promises they made during election, which can be anything like building a temple or church, helping the poor people by providing them with basic human needs, and many more, then their questioning to the government is valid. Only by questioning the goverment this group can state its point and can force the system to take actions regarding that. If people will not check the government, it can become indifferent towards the growth of the people and country.

Moreover, questioning the system tells that citizens are sedulously tracking the work of the elected government, and if they find out that they are not working seriously, people might not re-elect them in next elections.

But, it is not always true that government isn't working efficaciously. Certainly, government officials also want to improve and flourish their country, and that is why they have been elected. So when officials are working hard for the nation, at that time, questioning there working might produce an adverse effect on motivations, and they might get daunted.

Thus, from my point of view, if people think that the elected is not working efficiently like not completing the promises it made then people should question the government regarding that. Whereas, if they are working diligently then it is discouraging for them to face questions from the very people they are working for.