Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Do grades encourage students to learn? That’s a good question. Many people think that grades encourage students to learn but looking from a perspective of a student I don’t think that is true at all. In the following passage I will explain why I disagree with the argument stated above.

First of all,it is crutial to mention the importance of self-estime. Certainly, it is possible for a student that gets bad grades to lower his or hers self-estime, and I am 100% sure that is not the educational system's goal. However, for the student who gets good grades and is always on the top that can be extremely beneficial and by meaning of that high grades can boost their self-estime.

Another reason why I think grades do not encourage students to learn is that they can lower the desire to learn. Nowadays, school isn’t about learning new thing, it is just about passing the exams. I know from the experience that if I didn’t get bad grades from physics maybe I would give it a try and make an effort to learn some new information about this particular subject. But now, since grades are a part of an educational system, students have to find different ways to pass an exam and that is certainly not by studying. If you are asking what different ways ,well, that a fairly easy question, by cheating. Cheating is ,I feel the same thing as robbing a bank or stealing something in a store so I am convinced that we don’t want to raise a bunch of criminals in our country.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I'm of the opinion that in most cases it would be more beneficial for students, as well as for parents, if grades didn't exist.