Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? If a person wants to be successful, he or she must be open-minded to new ideas and willing to change his or her mind.

Success, the foundation of personal development, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over the impact of openness to new ideas. Being adhere to own position, in some people’s views, is an effective tactic in the work field. Contrary to these people’s perspectives is my standpoint that it is more likely for the people who are opened to new ideas and willing to change his mind to achieve success, due to the contributions to the efficiency and interpersonal relationship.

What must be prioritized is that being willing to switch his viewpoints, instead of clinging to original viewpoints, is beneficial to productivity, by reducing errors in work and saving working tome. To begin with, never can we ignore the significance of openness to people’s working efficiency. In detail, the mistakes committed at work can be easily discovered and revised by the people giving faithful advice, which can definitely enhance the productivity; in contrast, the less willing to consider and accept others’ standpoint, the harder to locate and correct mistakes, causing working inefficiency. Moreover, it is listening to and accepting others’ suggestions that help people save time. To explain it further, spotting and correcting mistakes is time-consuming, so it is vital and essential to be opened to others’ viewpoints, which can make individual decisions and strategy flawless; on the other hand, will the man skip the process of discovering and revising errors without others’ proposal?

What should be equally worth discussing is that maintaining an open mind to others’ views, rather than keeping inflexible on own ideas, can promote people’s interpersonal relationship, by boosting relationship with colleagues and executives. To begin with, it is well-acknowledged that being a good listener, people can develop positive relationships around the office. Specifically, only by exchanging ideas more will people hamper the communication gap in the workplace and build harmonized office atmosphere; on the contrary, no one wants to work with a stubborn fellow worker, which will knock out the workplace interaction in the long run. Additionally, the man who is opened to others’ thinking can always keep a good relationship with the leader. To be more specific, a supervisor always place the employee with openness as the candidate of promotion, so he will gain appreciation of the leader; however, it is difficult for a conservative employee to develop a good relationship with the executive, and even there is a risk of being hired.

Productivity, the foundation of people’s future success, will be boosted if people are opened to others’ views; interpersonal relationship, essential contributors to individual future success, will be facilitated, if people are always ready to accept others’ suggestions. To conclude, only by maintaining an open mind to others’ views, instead of clinging to own ideas all the time, can people reap numerous benefits.