Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people should take several different kinds of jobs before they take a career in a long term.

Jobs, the foundation of a quality life, have been valued and even trigger a heated discussion over what young people should do before taking a career in a long run. Getting prepared for only one job, in some people’s views, is an effective career plan. Contrary to these people’s opinions is my perspective that taking various kind of works, which may take graduates more time to do, is superior, due to contributors to their personal development and professional development.

What must be prioritized is that taking different kinds of works, instead of concentrating on only one job, is beneficial to people’s personal development, by offering them more knowledge and assisting them in making occupational choices. To begin with, it is different kinds of positions that provide people with the access to a bulk of expertise. In detail, by doing assorted works, people can acquire a wide range of knowledge in statistics, programming and management, enlarging their knowledge base; in contrast, such a large quantity of knowledge cannot be obtained when they take only one job. Moreover, never can we ignore the significance of locating various niches to making subsequent career plans. To explain it further, after taking various kinds of works, people will find what they are interested in and what they are expert in, enabling them to hunt for a perfect career; on the other hand, will they pursue a satisfactory job without trying different jobs?

What should be equally worth discussing is that taking a variety of different works, rather than taking only one work, can promote people’s professional development, by honing their interpersonal skills and developing their working skills. To begin with, it is universally acknowledged that after taking different works, people can practice their communication skills. Specifically, only by working in different environments will people come across people from diverse background, such as businessmen and government staffs, with whom they can practice their tactics of socializing; on the contrary, under no circumstances will they interact with such a variety of people if they do not try different works. Additionally, after taking different jobs, people can obtain kinds of practical skills, such as time management skills and multi-tasking skills, which can definitely help them move up a career ladder. To be more specific, a supervisor will place an employee mastering different skills as the candidate of promotion; however, the less skills acquired from different careers an employee has, the less likely he is to be promoted.

Personal development, essential contributors to people’s future success, will be facilitated, if people can take different kinds of jobs before they take a career in a long time. Professional development, the foundation of employees’ future success, will be boosted if people can try several different works before starting their careers. To conclude, only by working in different environments, instead of focusing on only one work, can people reap numerous benefits.