Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Quality of education is directly affected by the willingness of university professors. Professors are responsible for implementing high-quality tutoring, and if their salaries increase, it is likely to conclude that the quality they produce escalates. Though some people believe that universities should not spend more money on salaries of university professors, I believe that the more income they gain, the more inclined they are to conduct a high-quality education for students. With higher salaries, professors' motivation will increase, and their distraction caused by working in other jobs will diminish, leading to a better-quality education.

First, the increase in wages of professors results in higher motivation between them. Professors, just like other people, are in need of money and their contribution towards higher quality education is more efficient if they receive more salaries. The money will motivate them in a way that they try to bring on an impeccable teaching experience for their students. Teachers and professors are usually among the less paid labors of societies, although their contribution to communities is significant. The increase in their salaries will make them sure that their actions are important and others acclaim their efforts, leading to even higher motivation for them. As an instance, my father was a professor, and he received the minimum wage for years. After the cultural revolution in our country, his salary was raised, and he was highly motivated to exploit most of his abilities. He started working in his free time in order to catch up with his students' progress, and all of a sudden, he was not that unconcerned with his education duties.

Second, by earning more money from higher salaries, professors who work in other jobs can leave out their jobs and instead focus more on their academic performance, leading to better quality education. There are lots of professors and teachers out there that cannot follow up with the economic demands of their families and are working part-time in other non-academic jobs in order to obtain extra money. The increase in salaries by universities will make them independent of any outsource money hence they can focus more on their teaching activities. The escalation of focus by professors stems from eliminating the source of distraction, so they can spend more time carrying out the tasks related to academic activities. A research conducted by Harvard University scholars has proved that people are distracted when they participate in multi-tasks, and their effectiveness in all of their actions will diminish as a result of distraction. Since higher paid professors do not need to engage in other activities rather than the academic ones, they can focus more on the quality of their teaching, and their students can enjoy a higher-quality education.

Finally, I think that professors are one of the fundamental factors that can reinforce the prosperity of societies. The higher their wages, the higher they tend to implement a better education for students, since they are more motivated and less distracted than before. Consequently, I am of the opinion that professors deserve this raise, and their contributions to societies are highly-valuable.