Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In every modern society, the quality of education is vital for the advancement of the economy. The investment in education is needed to keep the education at high standard. Personally, I believe that giving a good compensation to professors is beneficial for the quality of education. I will explore this the following paragraphs.

First of all, best pay for professor allows colleges to be competitive on the job market, which is the key to the quality of teaching. In fact, most of the well-educated scholars quit their teaching jobs to join other organizations that will pay them more money. Therefore, universities should pay faculties with good benefits. My alma mater is the best example of this. Boston Community College (BCC), where I studied computer sciences, five years ago, had the best professors in the whole region. However, the college didn't provide the best salaries and benefits, which the lecturers needed to survive in this expensive city. Last year, when the tech companies started to open their offices in the city most of best teachers left the teaching job because of attractive pay from those companies. Consequently, BCC has bad rating in quality of teaching, especially due to lack of qualified lecturer. Had BCC provided the excellent salaries to professors, it would have stayed on the top quality of education.

Furthermore, the high salary for teachers and professors will make this profession attractive to young people. Nowadays, students go to college to prepare their future careers, and the most motivation is money for some young people. If the teaching career is rewarding, the schools would attract the best talents, which is a huge contribution to the improvement quality of learning. For instance, I graduated with honor in my class, and after my graduation I had multiple offers from colleges and privet companies. I chose to work for one tech company because they had better wage and addition incentives. I personally like to teach but I couldn't take the job at my college because the benefit package was very unattractive. As you can see, many talented people like me choose not to go to academia because of the bad pay, which affects the quality of education in future.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that college should spend more money on salaries to improve quality of education. Not only will the schools keep the best lecturers, but also, they will attract young talents.