Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people say that to improve the quality of education, universities should invest money on better study environments, better books, and better classrooms. However, I do not agree with this stance and believe that to improve the quality of education, it is necessary to invest money on the salaries of the professors for three reasons

First of all, without getting the proper salaries, the professors will not be interested in a particular university. For example, if a university aims to get better professors so that the quality of education of the university increases but offers lesser than average salaries that others are providing, no high-quality professor will not be interested in joining the university. By providing minimum salaries, it is not possible to recruit top-quality professors. However, if the university starts giving proper salaries to the professor then renowned professors will join the university and the quality of the education will also enhance.

Second of all, if the universities do not spend more money on salaries then the professor will not be motivated to work hard to increase the quality of education. For example, in my county, professors get extra incentives from the university as well as the government if they show extra dedication in improving the quality of education like doing publications, motivating students. On the other hand, a university that does not encourage its professors by giving them incentives like a yearly bonus, best teacher incentive, top contribution on education bonus then the professors will not be motivated to work hard as they know that they will get the same salaries even if they work harder.

Finally, top-class students will not be motivated in joining the teaching profession if they find that there are not enough salaries in this profession which in turn results in decreasing the quality of education. For example, in my country, the professors get a lot of extra incentives like housing loans, car loans, yearly bonuses, etc. As students know about these incentives, they are motivated to join in the teaching profession and helps to improve the quality of education. On the other hand, if the government and university would not have provided these incentives then most of the top students would not be motivated to join as a professor.