Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for government to spend money on building

modern housing than on preserving historic or

traditional buildings and homes.

It has been a controversial argument particularly over the past few decades about whether historic and traditional buildings should be preserved or governments are better to build new modern housing. Although some people are the leading proponents of the claim that modern buildings are more beneficial, I to contrary repudiate this idea. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons to shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

To commence with, one of the most interesting facets of current discussion which deserves keen contemplation is that historic buildings are the identity of a city or an area that needs to be preserved. To elucidate, regarding new technologies and huge investments, cities are transforming more rapidly these days into modern ones. Nonetheless, old and traditional districts have gained more attention from local people because of the fact that they see these buildings as part of their culture and identity. Let me come up with a compelling example, I grew up in Ekbatan Complex which is known as a traditional vicinity in Tehran. However, despite the fact that people were against the idea of renovation of the whole neighborhood, the government allocated a huge amount of money for it and as a result, nowadays, no one knows about the historic aspect of Ekbatan which is disappointing.

Moreover, another noteworthy facet of ongoing discussion with demands to be reflected is that by preserving old and historic buildings, the possibility of attracting tourists is considerably raised. It is crystal clear that the tourism industry plays a stellar role in the economy of a city regardless of other industries. Furthermore, in spite of the fact that preserving traditional buildings might seem costly at first sight, governments can be noticeably benefitted at the end. Also, it can provide a situation in which local people may run new and small businesses like café's and selling their traditional handicrafts. To pave the way, let me give you an example, Yazd is considered as the most historic city of Iran which a substantial amount of money is allocated to maintaining the city as its traditional figure. It was published that the revenue from Yazd was 37% higher than the money allocated at the first place. Apparently, both the government and people will be rewarded by this procedure.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned arguments lead us to the fact that allocating money to preserve historic buildings should be considered as the priority for governments owing to the identity of cities and the tourism industry.