Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for government to spend money on building modern housing than on preserving historic or traditional buildings and homes.

Traditional buildings, as we all know, is our wealth. Although it may seem exaggerated, one may find this contention sensible. In this regard, many people support this opinion that the government should spend money on building modern housing than on protecting historic or traditional buildings. Contrary to common belief, I believe that spending money on historical places have not only social effects but also have economic influences on a community. I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

The first reason which makes me hold this belief is the social aspect of preserving an old home. Undoubtedly, constructing new buildings is indispensable and it is considered in most of the urban planning, but historical buildings are the identity of a city and should not be neglected. Specifically, buildings which trace to distant past can be a sign which present people`s way of living. In fact, protecting the signs of the past not only vitalizes the honor of knowing the origination for people of a city but also help them to get more familiar with their previous generations. So, both constructing a new building and conserving old ones should be considered in the government`s expenses.

Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind is the economic advantage of maintaining old buildings as a tourism destination. Without a doubt, tourism has a considerable portion of trading, and it is the first revenue resource for many countries all around the world. Therefore, conserving old places by attracting tourists help not only the place more preserve than the past but also attract the money and income for local people. Even inbound tourism would be useful because transfer the money among local businesses leads to rise the payments and also create jobs. Take my experience as an example, several years ago when Turkey had not known as a tourism destination; yet, I had read an article about Turkey, it declaimed that the circumstance of old buildings is not satisfactory and also alluded to this fact that an average wage was low and introduced tourism as an effective cure. Then I travel to Turkey as a tourism expert, and I figure out how tourism helps their old building preserve and how much job it creates.

To summarize, contemplating all remarks, we can safely conclude that preserving old buildings provide social benefits and also economic advantages for residents.