Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents job than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents job Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Nowadays, with the hectic society, gaining an education is the utmost important part of human life, because it will ensure our future life. After obtaining higher knowledge, everyone has a hard time choosing a career. Some people choose to follow their parents' path, while others pursue their interests. I disagree with the statement and I feel this way for the following reasons.

First of all, everyone has different interests, because having the same attributes as our parents does not mean that we need to have similar things to enjoy. My experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in my senior year of high school, I have already chosen my major to be engineer because I loved to solve mathematics and physics problems. But, when I told it my parents, they were surprised that I did not want to become an economist like them. At the time, the main problem was that both I and my parents had different notions of the path I have chosen. As a result, they were disappointed in me for a while. So, I think parents should respect their children's opinions.

Secondly, it is our life, not our parents'. If we choose our career just because for the reason that it will disappoint our parents, it is not a great choice. Needless to say, no one wants to waste their time on invaluable things. If the job we chose turned out to be boring and ineffective, it will affect the productivity of work. For instance, my cousin wanted to be a lawyer. But she became a doctor because of her parents' demand and she is doing a great job. However, she is not happy, because she always feels like she is being forced to do something. Therefore, after working as a doctor for a quiet time, she realized that it was a waste of time. Afterward, she pursued the path that she was desiring.

In conclusion, even though it is important to carry our parents' legacy, we should choose our career based on the things we like, not including the parents' decision. It is important because it is our life and we should enjoy it as much as we can.