Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays it is common for some countries that the students take a gap year after graduating high school. Some people think it is a waste of time, but in my opinion, students should have a break after a continuous education. I feel this way for two main reasons.

First of all, it is an opportunity for students to know and understand themselves better. University is like an endless road that a year off helps students to prepare for what is coming. My relative's experience is a compelling example of this. My cousin was really stressed and worried about attending university right away. So, she traveled to many counties with her family after she graduated. She mentioned that she joined a volunteering club while exploring. After she came from abroad, she felt totally like a different person, and her attitude and tendency had changed greatly. As a result, she forgot all of her anxieties and was accepted to the university she was planning to apply for.

Secondly, some universities are too expensive that students cannot afford the tuition fee. In my country, the average salary for the month is not enough to even provide everyday necessities. So, a gap year is a great chance for students of poor families, who can pay their tuition, by working on part-time jobs and accumulating their salary.

On top of that, some universities' requirements for applying are too high that students need to work on particularly, their personal statement essays better. In order to write it better, students should spend plenty of time. On average, writing a good essay that will impress the admission committee takes four to five months. There are also other factors that students need to consider, such as social activity. Many countries do not have many volunteering activities which are really important for students. Because the most famous schools accept students who have social activities and academic achievements.

In conclusion, taking a year off is beneficial for students, Because, in this duration, students can be ready for university, some poor family students would have the capability to pay their fee, and also they can improve their other characteristics.