Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is better to have a broad knowledge of many specific academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject”. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Education plays an important role in human’s life. Thus, some people prefer to study different subjects to get a variety of knowledge. Others decide to spend more time learning just one subject to have a deeper understanding. From my point of view it is much better to have a broad knowledge because you would have a variety of options for your future, and it is easier to learn new skills and things, and you would be able to come up with new ideas using your broad knowledge.

First of all, people with a broad knowledge would have a lot of chances to begin their future. I think it is better to have lot of options for future and choosing several of them rather than relying on only one subject such as, chemistry. Who knows what would happen tomorrow. There might happen a sharp decrease in demands of chemists or pharmacists and what would they do? So, it is better to have a proper knowledge at least in two subjects. Moreover, the most interesting and important part of it is that even if you fail in one field you can learn from their mistakes, gain a real world and life experience which is very valuable, precious, and important, and dig in another field employing your experience.

Secondly, it is easier to learn new things and new knowledge with a broad knowledge of different subjects. You can combine your knowledge in one subject with another and grasp new things quickly and easily. For instance, my teacher who knows four different languages such as English, Portuguese, French, Spanish, and Russian learned German in two months by combining and mixing vocabulary and grammar of different languages with German. And another example is my classmate who has in-depth knowledge in physics and pharmacy studied chemistry in 5 weeks because the terminology, experiments, and things are quite similar. Therefore, it is vital to know a lot and the more you know the faster and easier you learn new things.

Last but not least, many big company and government employers look for employees with a good knowledge of different fields because the more knowledge you possess the more new ideas you can come up with. People with a concentrated and specific knowledge on one subject cannot think widely. They only focus on one thing which is not what employer want from them. However, workers with a broad knowledge can apply their mind and come up with a brand new idea which is profitable for the company to realize. Thus, these people are more successful, prosperous, and have a stable position in society.

When all is said and done, as I explained above, it is really beneficial to have or to possess knowledge of variety of subjects due to lots of possibilities for future, easiness of learning new things, and successful and stable job.