Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: it is better for university students to first get a general education, taking classes in many fields, than is for them to take clases only in their own field of study. Use details and examples.

The professionals should be prepared with a wide variety of knowledge. It is impressive to find a person who graduate from a college and besides his or her major is able to talk about different topics. There are many people who consider that universities should focus only on the classes related with the students' field, I don't agree with that. I'm concurred upon the fact that professionals should know a little about each topic. I based my arguments in some reasons that I will develop in the next paragraphs.

First of all, students might get better jobs if they have knowledge about different topics. It is very sad that a professional can only claim opinions about matters related with his or her field. This for sure will disqualify anyone who is applying for a job. In a job interview, for instance individuals who can express their point about different topics are the ones who always impress managers. Inasmuch as the technologic develop, students will need more knowledge to compete with other individuals for job positions.

Social status is another aspect related with students who graduate from universities that offer a wide variety of classes. As a matter of fact, people ignore subjects who cannot express well, and even who don't have a good professional level. Therefore, money is not enough to define a person with a good position, now the story has taken a different route. Due to the fact that most people attended to university and have degrees, today it is most important to be considered as a wise professional who knows about everything.

In addition, the professional represent the university from where he or she graduated. If a person who graduated from a well known university is not working ethically, and is causing problems, this might harm the university where this person came. People will blame the University for the Subject’s Behaviors. Also, the opposite might happen if the professional has a good performance with his or her activities, it will benefit the university.

To sum up, I consider that universities should offer a wide variety of classes to students because in this way students might get better jobs, might have a better social status, and will display a better image of the university.