Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most of us has done researches at least once. To gather information required, there are many forms of resources available. In my view, printed materials are better than internet resources. In the essay I will explain reasons to my opinion.

To begin with, printed materials such as books, articles are more reliable than internet based once. Books and articles are mostly written by reputed authors in respective fields. On the other hand, most of the documents found in websites are written by random persons and most of them biased. For instance when I’m studying for my first degree in history at University of Colombo Sri Lanka, I was assigned to do a research about World War 2. I used internet to gather information. But professor pointed out me that some information in my article are not correct and I got low marks to that assignment. This helped me to realize that printed materials are more reliable.

Secondly, books and printed articles contain are more descriptive. In a book we can see get summary of all relevant details under main topics. If one expect more information he/she can refer subtopics which provides more elaborate details, which helps to more enthusiastic student to grasp knowledge. At the high school, my history teacher always advise us to use recommended books to understand lessons taught in the class room. He told us that, those books are more informative and will help to get a broad understand of the subject.

Last but not least, to refer internet based materials you need other tools and services, such as a computer, mobile phone and electricity. But to refer a book, book is enough. Also you can lend your book to anyone without any copyright issues. But sometimes internet based materials have legal limitations, when we are going to share those with some third party. For instance, I am living in a third world country, where computers and internet are considered as luxuries that every one cannot afford as a result, to do research printed materials are better as they are readily available in any country.

In conclusion, even though internet based materials are popular, they are not good resources to do research. Because printed materials are more reliable and more informative than printed materials. Also in a developing county everyone does not has access to internet. That is why I support the use of printed materials like books and articles.