Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to have rules about the types of clothes that people wear in their workplace and at school.

Nowadays, people’s opinions may differ when it comes to the issue of whether it is of vital importance to have rules about the existence of a dress code at work and at school. Some people would argue that one’s clothing is an identity for work or school. However, from my perspective, I am still in favor of the idea that a dress code is unnecessary for the following reasons.

Admittedly, restrictions on clothing at work or at school could enhance working and learning efficiency to some extent. When employees are required to wear uniforms, people may focus their attention on what they do instead of being distracted by a variety of clothes. It is obvious that concentration will bring efficiency, ensuring production efficiency and enhancing studying effect. Nevertheless, compared to the benefits brought by free wearing, rules on clothing are secondary both to workers and students.

To begin with, allowing employees to have no standard regulation on clothes enables workers to feel more respected. That is to say, by providing the freedom to dress whatever they like, employers deliver the concept of respect. According to a survey conducted by Gallup, after polling thousands of employees from different companies, most respondents believe that regulations on their clothing are disrespectful and undesirable and should be abandoned or at least adjusted. It is also mentioned by some senior managers that it is of potential risks to prohibit the clothes wearing since it might cause tension between employers and employees. On the other hand, when employees are free to choose what to wear in office, the color difference would bring more diversity, leading to a more vivacious atmosphere. This is helpful in improving work efficiency because office-stayers are freer in what they think and how to manage the problems.

In addition, in a school setting, personalized clothing could cultivate students’ appreciation for beauty. As is known to all, students are at an era that well-rounded education is in dire need; by permitting students to wear different kinds of clothes, students can learn about beauty through different angles by watching everyday apparels. For instance, my friend grew up in US where she was given with the freedom to wear what she loves to school. Later when she started working in Taiwan, she knew exactly what to wear because her standard of beauty in dressing has been established. In contrast, students in Asian countries who have been restricted by wearing uniforms in school for years would have trouble choosing the proper attire entering the professional world. The reason is that most Asian teenagers were not given the opportunity to select what they like. Consequently, they lack the experience of trial and error, which would take a longer time for them to find out what’s suitable for them.

In summary, based on the above analysis, despite certain merits of having strict dress code, I believe that people should not implement this policy at work or school.