Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know what is happening around the world, even if it does not affect your personal lives.

It is no secret that every second many different happenings occur all around the world. In this regard, some people are inclined toward this opinion that as long as those happenings are irrelevant to their personal life it is not essential to be aware of them whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective and believe that everybody should care about those happenings. From my vantage point, the latter’s advantages carry more weight. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two noticeable reasons.

First, one should take into account the fact that without a shadow of doubt, political decisions play prominent roles in every individual’s life. It is crystal clear that politicians attempt to make their decisions based on their present society’s situation. Therefore, it is of paramount importance to be aware of the decisions’ consequences. To shed light on this issue, two years ago, my uncle obtained a great profit from his trade. Since he was not aware of the political news and situation, he decided to save his money in a bank and get interests. Two months later, the price of gold raised surprisingly. As a result, my uncle felt that how a big mistake he made with his money. Had he known about the political situation at that time he would have achieved a huge profit. This event has shown him that although the political issues had not had a direct effect on his personal life, by having information about different political decisions he could have got a better financial condition.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that every society is involved with different social problems. It is widely accepted that some social problems can cause many problems in society, which may not have an impact on people’s private lives directly. As an example to illustrate this matter, consider poverty as one of the important social problems. In fact, if everybody was not aware of being poverty in their society, they would not sustain any difficulty in their lives. But, as a human, it is everybody’s responsibility to participate effectively to diminish and gradually eliminate this issue of our society. Hence, there are many other samples of various social issues such as children’s labor, defending women’s rights, to name but a few. Although these problems are not involved with people’s lives, they need public awareness and collaboration in order to cope with them.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it is a must for everybody to broaden their awareness of different happenings around the world, which not only enhances their knowledge and information but also helps them have more impressive and effective cooperation in solving different issues.