At work or school, you might encounter a problem that requires creativity -for example, you are given a task to complete that is very different from other tasks you do. In work or school situation that requires you to think creatively, would you prefer to work alone or with others? Why?

By and large, it is beyond doubt that new tasks involve myriads of problems and introduce unknown obstacles which are necessary to be dealt with, especially if one wishes to carry out the tasks properly. The ever-increasing importance of creativity in either school or workplaces has given rise to a longstanding controversy as to whether it is better to work individually or collectively with others, specifically in the occasion of having a new and unknown duty, considering that it may lead to a better result. Although some people may cling to the idea that it is better to work alone in such situations, I resolutely contend that it is much wiser to work along with others, as it may highly increase the likelihood of success. In what follows, I will cogently delve into my paramount reasons to justify my viewpoint.

Firstly, one of the most significant reasons noteworthy of mentioning here is the fact that doing creative tasks especially for the first time in groups rather than individually can expand the possibility of success. In other words, every individual has their own knowledge and abilities which can come in handy in solving different problems. Unprecedented tasks leave us blind about(to?) the possible impediments and their solutions. Therefore, having as many people as possible along with us will fortify the chance of addressing those problems aptly and consequently resolving them successfully. For example, I once was assigned to make a commercial advertisement for Irancell Company. It was the first time I was responsible for such a duty, so I was paralyzed and unable to think of an idea. One of my colleagues, however, suggested the idea of working in a group instead. Although I did not have so much time left, I gathered my team as fast as possible. Surprisingly, the result was more than satisfactory. It was because, in spite of the short time I had left, my team and I managed to overcome the problems and come up with an innovative idea for the advertisement, which won the competition among other candidates who were working on the same order from Irancell company. Therefore, my boss promoted our team members and from that point on, we worked together.

Secondly, another equally important factor is that working in a team will fortify one's social skills and elevates their social circle and companionship. Working together not only extends the chance of overcoming the barriers alongside the challenging tasks, but also strengthens the relationship between co-workers or classmates. For instance, the results of a research conducted in Tehran's education department underscore the fact that students who are educated in groups (for example by doing group projects) tend to keep their group bonds even after finishing their assignments. Besides, the results show that they are more likely to have socially more stable and successful life, as they have a broad social circle and lively lifestyle. Time out. Based on the results of similar studies, the students who are educated individually (without so much teamwork), however, face difficulties maintaining their job position as they are incapable of working with others lacking interaction skills which are deeply necessary as job requirements.

To recapitulate, considering the mentioned reasons above, one can effortlessly conclude that in order to accomplish an unfamiliar task properly along with creative solutions, one should consider working with others as a team because as more a group members, as higher the chances of coming up with an authentic and novel idea. Hopefully, both education system and workplaces start to adopt more progressive policies toward team work and its merits which without a doubt outweigh the drawbacks.