Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours

A glance at people’s attitude toward the hours of working brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether working for longer hours but three days a week is better choice or working shorter hours and five days a week. As a pharmacist who is married, my preference is to work five days a week for eight hours instead of staying at pharmacy for 12 continuous hours. Although some of my colleagues choose to distribute prescriptions the whole day and have long weekends, I do not see their schedule reasonable for myself because most of them are singles and far away from their relatives.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lied in the fact that I am a mother with difficult responsibilities about my daughter. A study at Harvard University, department of child psychology, shows that babies need significant attention and love during first two years of their life. It can affect their life later when they enter to society. If parents do not give them enough love and care, they cannot trust people and will not have self-confidence. The results of this study are tangible for me because I experienced that if my daughter does not see me longer than specific hours, she becomes sick. Therefore, not only is it crucial for me to be an excellent pharmacist, but also to be a caring mother.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that in healthcare, people must be really careful. Even a small mistake can threaten patients’ life. In other words, when our mind is tired, it cannot focus well and makes more mistakes than normal which is dangerous for people. Medicines look similar and I noticed that after noon, pharmacy technicians bring the wrong medicine which is sometimes life-threatening. Thus, I think it is better to choose safer side and work less every day but without error.

Nevertheless, single pharmacists state that longer hours work better. They spend their time and money on traveling, since they have no family to be with. However, even if I had long holiday, I still could not go to journey. It is obvious for parents that with a toddler it is impossible to rest and must go around the entire time during trip.

Due to the aforementioned argument discussed in the previous statements, I highly recommend my married colleagues to have shorter schedules for five days a week, even though singles may choose different plan.