Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

A glance at people's attitude toward job hours brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether working three days a week for long hours is better or five days a week for shorter hours. As a pharmacist and new mother, I prefer to work five days a week and then spend time with my family the rest of the day. Although most singles who live alone prefer to work for longer hours and then enjoy their long weekends, this plan is almost impossible for me.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that my daughter cannot stay without me more than eight hours. She needs my attention and when I arrive home, she gets really happy. I know that if I work the whole day and she does not see me, she becomes sick. In the routine life, I have more responsibilities that I should take them into account. Therefore, I need to go back home around evening.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that efficiency is a crucial factor in my job. As a matter of fact, even a small mistake can endanger patients' life. This significant factor proves that if I work more than specific hours, I cannot concentrate on prescriptions well enough. I have seen that after six pm. pharmacy technicians make a lot more mistake than morning and I am the one who has to correct all the mistakes. So, I prefer to be safe and do not put people in trouble.

Nevertheless, it is great to work only three days a week and then go to travel and enjoy your life. Some of my colleagues chose longer schedules and all of them are singles. Even if I had a long weekend I could not go to trip because I have a lot of postponed tasks and need to manage them first. On the other hand, travel with a baby is not enjoyable. She needs more care and attentions during journey and then I have no time to relax. Thus, it is better to work five days a week and stay at home after work.

Due to aforementioned argument discussed in the previous statements, I highly recommend married people especially if they work in healthcare area, to work all the week but for shorter hours and then be with their precious family and take care of them.