Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Students are pillars of our sophisticated educational system. Their learning necessities have been modified from the dawn of the education up to this modern era. A controversial question about students is whether perceiving ideas and concepts have more importance or the facts instead? In my vantage perspective, learning the facts is what they truly need since it will build a solid and basic structure of the science, hinder the confusion, and accelerate their potentials for making ideas by themselves.

First exquisite point to be mentioned is that the learning facts is fundamental to build a concrete primary structure of any knowledge. Therefore students need to comprehend facts prior to any other information. For instance, a person as an inventor of a new electronic device needs to know proved facts of physics and mathematics before the invention. Without that he/she can not avoid the failures or fix the flaws. That shows knowing the facts is more crucial than any ideas.

Second understanding ideas without facts may waste their time and sometimes even money since most of the concepts are way too complicated and this complexity baffles the students. So they require to make more effort and relatively time to perceive the idea. Moreover, getting proper scores is very important for many students and they may require asking a tutor to coach them for their test which undoubtedly is not free of charge. As it is clear, wasting time, energy, and money is another reason for sticking with facts rather than ideas and concepts.

Another noteworthy reason is that learning facts will turn students to an accountable idea generator in the future. For instance, a cook who knows the fact about making the Spaghetti is the one can generate and any ideas about how it can taste better or what kind of sauce will make it more pleasant for children! But, primarily, he/she knows the facts like how it has to be added into the boiling water, the time for cooking, the proper pot for this purpose, and the texture and taste of different sauces and Spaghetti. There is no doubt, without knowing the fact, his/her notions cannot get an appraisal by other proficient cooks.

To wrap the argument, If we take a glance into the benefits of learning facts rather than ideas, it will be soon recognized that learning facts is more worthwhile as it helps us making further accountable ideas, hindering the confusion, and saving our time and energy. The inevitable question is whether we need taking steps to stop teaching notions to the students in terms of its aforementioned deficiencies.