Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It has been a rising debate over whether the government should subsidize Internet access or public transportation. There are various opinions. For some people, it is important to improve Internet access, because there are more and more people using the Internet. On the other hand, some argue that public transportation plays a fundamental role in people’ life. I, myself, incline to the first point by giving the following reasons.

First of all, the internet contributes to the study of all the students by accessing so much information. Nowadays, there are more and more students go to class with laptops or other electronic devices for recording and note-taking. That would be a problem if there is no good Internet access. Take me as an example, I usually go to class with my smartphone that is the equivalent of a heavy notebook and textbook. Teachers would use their presentations on the class. And I can only use my cell phone to take notes instead of carrying my textbook. Because there are serval classes I need to have one day, it would be a relief for me to take just a cellphone. And if there is no such good Internet access, I cannot connect to the Internet to check out some information I need. Therefore, it is really important for governments to improve Internet access.

Secondly, Internet access changes the way people work. With better Internet access, many people can choose to work at home. They do not need to go to the office. Therefore, there is no more traffic jam. What's more, that would save a lot of money for the companies and employees. People can use this sum of money to do what they like, such as spending more money on studying a new skill or traveling abroad.

Thirdly, Internet access will stimulate other areas. If connecting to the Internet become faster, that would make a big change in many fields such as delivering, online shopping, long-distance class. For example, Taobao, the biggest online shop in China. Every year, there are a lot of customers purchase various goods on Taobao. The reason behind this phenomenon is better Internet access, which has been contributed to the infrastructures by the Chinese government. If the netizen cannot use the computer or smartphone anywhere and anytime, that would not be possible for Taobao to make such a huge profit.

In conclusion, it is necessary for governments to spend money to improve Internet access.