Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

friends are as important as the air we breath. they play an essential role in the way we live. there are differing opinions in society on the topic of making friends. On one hand, some people believe that we should keep our childhood or old companions. On the other hand, certain people feel that making new friends is more beneficial . In my opinion, i agree with the former. The following paragraphs will expatiate on why I hold this belief.

First, meeting new people and becoming friends with them could be dangerous. questions like what their believes are, which battles they have fought and what influences their decisions are important to ask before making someone a friend. Unlike new friends, old friends already know our secrets and we share many things in common. my experience is a compelling example of how making new friends could hurt us. After graduation, I was job hunting and met few people along the way. we became close as I thought we share same idea. we would hang out together and go to each other's house. On one unfortunate day, we were at an open bar and one of them brought out a gun. Initially, I thought it was fake or he was messing with me. they forced me into a car. I realised they were kidnapping me. They demanded a ransom that parents paid. this was a sad experience. I am sure my old friends would not do such a thing .

Another reason to keep old friends is they can become one's soul mate or spouse. when we know each other for so long , we are used to each other's ways and ideologies. Nothing is going to surprise us. These are the vital attributes to consider when we want to marry. my brother's experience is a vivid example. when he was in middle school, he made some friends. they played sports together and participate in various school activities. there was a girl in his group of friends who was his best friend at that time. they kept their friendship till college and graduated the same year. Last year, he proposed to her to become his wife. She joyfully accepted his proposal. it is good to note that my brother is an introvert. Without this woman, I doubt if he would get married.

In conclusion, the benefits of keeping old friends could not be overstated. old friends can become family and new friends could be dangerous.