Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Probably, it will not be a secret if I write that it is extremely critical for the government to decide how much budgets to allocate to different projects in the country and manage them well. Hence, for every decision, there is a committee to make a program and study the needs of a country. In this regard, it is a long-lasting discussion among the scholars whether a government should invest more to the Internet improvement or to transportation. Personally, I am convinced that the government should pay more attention to the transportation, rather then to the Internet. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I discuss in the following paragraphs.

The first exquisite point to be mention is that despite the variety of options the Internet can suggest, the transportation is a vital part of the society, and with transport issues the stress and time waste would be unavoidable. For instance, my country is famous with the traffics and with awful asphalt quality on roads. In this harsh conditions, my friend, who works in an office with high speed Internet, needs to wake up three hours earlier to be on time in work. Although the day only starts for him, he is already stressed and with a headache. Were he to have an opportunity to avoid traffics, he would be in a happy mood, even if the Internet would be slow.

Equally essential to the previous reason concerning why governments should pay more attention to the transport is that the Internet requires the use of electronic devices; however, not all of the population can afford them. Yet, the investment on roads, highways, subways and other kind of things related to transportation will obviously affect to larger group of people. Also, it will create links in a society. Drawing for my country’s experiment, once some transport problems were solved, the people became more social, because they could access to many locations in or out their city; nevertheless, they become more connected to each other, despite the distance.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, I truly believe that governments should consider investing to transportation in the first place. It would be much beneficial due to the amount of people they would have an influence and due to the time and stress issues they would solve.