Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the paramount role of a good friend in our lives. Friendship is a unique relationship because it is your choice and decision to be with this person. However, is it fair to state that keeping old friends is better than having a new friend? From my point of view, personally, I believe that rapport with an old friend persists longer than a new one for two reasons which I will explore in the following article.

First of all, each relationship should pass through enough time to build strong connections. These connections will help both sides to overcome many difficulties. Therefore an old relationship means that you have a person who knows everything about your attitude or thoughts without explanations. For instance, my close friend from a university is Dalia, she lives in Australia with her husband. We are still close friends since 2003. Despite the thousands of miles between us, we still have the same passion in our relationship. When I talk to her, I feel like I am talking to myself in the mirror. On the other hand, recently, I met a young mother in my son’s school and we started to arrange play dates for our kids. After several times of gathering and spending time together, I realized that I do not feel comfortable in this connection because there is nothing common between us.

What’s more, we all noticed that our lives became more complicated and because of the pressure of work and other responsibilities, we barely have enough time and energy to spend it with family. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I am a mother that has two boys, I am working a part-time job as a dental assistant. When I finished my work, I have many duties that have to be done before the end of the day. Therefore, I have no time to make new relations or friends. As well as, I believe that as a mother, my priority is family and kids.

In conclusion, our friends are one of the precious gifts from God. I prefer to have few old friends rather than many new superficial relationships. Because these relevances are time and energy-consuming. As well as, like any other relation, should have strong connections to overcome any difficulties may pass through.