Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to

improve public transportation.

There is no shortage of opinion on the money spending by the money on the internet by the government. While some people think it is more sensible to spend this money on improving public transportation, I disagree. It is my firm belief that the government should devote more funding to enhance internet access than public transportation for two reasons, which I will develop in the subsequent paragraph.

To begin with, the internet gives broader access than transportations. You can literally see the entire world with a click which is amazing. For example, before the internet was available in my region, I had a limited view of the world. I could only imagine what it is like in other countries, or the food and culture there. Then the internet came and changed my life dramatically. Now, I can communicate with my friend on the other side of the sea, see the beautiful scenery across the globe, and many things beyond imagined before. It is not too much to say that this technology has become an essential part of my life. For this reason, the government should spend more on internet development.

Secondly, the internet offers more value than transportations. In fact, the top most companies in the world are all based on internet service. It is intriguing that before, the top ones were mainly oil and airlines cooperations. Let me just list a few examples. Amazon, one of the biggest stock companies out there, provides online shopping services based on internet access. The stock market for this company has risen to a significant height, to which the profit is even higher than a single Asian country’s total GDP. Meanwhile, the oil giants and transportation companies are experiencing a decline in the market. It is no doubt that the internet is the future for every country, and whoever seizes the opportunity first will take advantage—another reason to invest more in internet access.

Finally, I do not see the need to fund public transportations anymore. Develop countries today already have a compact and effective transporting system. For instance, most cities are now equipped with subways or electric buses. The metropolitan systems offer a wide choice for citizens to travel. In other words, public transports are matured enough, which means it is pointless to pour more money into it.

In light of the reasons I mentioned above, I strongly believe that governments should concentrate more on internet access and development rather than investing in public transportation.