Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinions about making friends. There is the type of person who would make friends everywhere and there is the type who prefers to maintain a smaller group of friends, like me. It is my firm belief that we should keep a strong friendship with our closest friends rather than making new ones, which I will explain in the subsequent paragraph.

First and foremost, true friends are rare, that is the truth we all have to accept. You will meet countless people in life, but the ones who understand you, the ones that share the same opinion as you, the ones who would help you when you are in trouble, are less than you would have thought. My personal experience is a great example of this. In the first year of high school, I felt very lonely. But it was not because I had no friends, I did, but none of whom really understood me. I really tried to blend in. My high school classmates came from a different place which I am not familiar with. Many of them knew each other for many years. So even though they were very friendly and wanted to make friends with me, I still felt alone. Eventually, I did found two people who share the same interest as me, but most friends I made were not close to me.

Second, the choice for friends is wide. It might seem a little controversial to what I said in the previous paragraph, but it is not. The big lesson I learned for all these years is to not hurry to make friends. In my opinion, one only should focus on their understanders. You can and will encounter people who could become your acquaintance, so do not worry that you are not making friends fast enough. I learned this the hard way. You see, I spent a lot of time, getting used to the new environment and my new classmates. In order to build a strong connection, I played sports with them, played cards with them. In other words, I did a lot of things that I was unwilling to do. I did not realize at that time the ones I should be maintaining friendships with were right beside me. The fact was, I did not need to please everyone. I only need two or three-person, whom I feel comfortable talking to, whom I can rely on and trust by my side.

In light of the reasons I mentioned above, I strongly believe that people should spend more time on a small group of friends than trying to make new friends faster because the former ones should be your focus.