Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

I think people should listen more to different points of view.

First of all, exposure to different points of view from our own can broaden our horizons and dialectically look at the problem. The individual's perspective is limited. Our views are often influenced by child discipline, schools, society, the times and so on. And listening to other points of view allows us to get a sense of what other people are thinking. For example, in China we often advocate drinking hot water when you have a fever, but in the United States people think that drinking ice water is more helpful in relieving the high temperature of a fever. When two people listen to each other, they think about which idea is better for their health.

Second, a different perspective can help us make better decisions. There is good and bad in every decision. We often only see the results we want to see, and ignore the hidden drawbacks. The person who raises the objection will certainly raise the reasons for the objection, these reasons will let us find their own thinking holes. Even if we eventually stick to our original decision, opposing opinions can help us refine our plan or view.

And while listening to our own point of view can make us feel good and gain a sense of identity, it doesn't help us to solve any questiongs. When all we hear is agreement, we become more confident that we have made the right judgment rather than reflecting and thinking, which leads to blind confidence.For example, in the Qing dynasty, emperors and officials thought they were the most powerful nation, without knowing how far the rest of the world, except for China, had come. So the old China was unprepared for war. This kind of blind confidence has brought great disaster to China in the past.

So I think we should listen more to different opinions and take them seriously.