Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

Regarding making new friends, different people can have different opinions. Some argues that maintaining the relationship of old friends is critical, while others believe that making new friends benefit more. As far as I am concerned, I agree that sustaining old relationship is more important, and I will explain why I stand this viewpoint in the following essay.

To begin with, the primary reason to establish and keep a friendship is to give me emotional support and run away from the pressure. Yet, meeting new people sometimes really makes me stressful. It does not mean that I am a shy guy or I hate to interact with people. Just because communicating with stranger tires me. For example, every time I go to the new school and try to talk with other guys, I have to manage my behavior to control the impression from others, for the reason that I am afraid of offending people unconsciously. Hence, the topics that I can chat with them are usually formal and serious, such as the academic, so I always become extremely exhausted after the situation.

On the contrary, I believe that old friends realize me more. Hanging out with my friends, I do not have to maintain a good impression, which means I can be myself. Again, take myself for example, unlike interacting with stranger, I talk more about personal issue to my friends, such as the struggle I suffered or the happy event I encountered. Therefore, keeping in touch with my friends definitely relieve more than meeting new people.

Finally, when I am trapped in the difficult circumstance, I expect my friends can give me a hand. Some people may think that to acquaint with new friends, there would be more people that you can ask for help when getting into trouble. Nevertheless, the idea ignores that they may not be willing to help you, since limited time I get along with them. In contrast, the old friends are more likely to accept my requirement, owing to a more stable relationship. Just imagine if someone asks you to lend him money, you are more willing to accept the requirement from a friend you only meet once or twice or a friend you have known for years?

In a nutshell, I firmly believe that maintaining the friendship with old friends benefits me more on both emotional and practical aspects. It is because making new friends exhausts me and I do not believe they are reliable when I am in need.