Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for teachers to get along with their students than to have a lot of knowledge.

The role of teachers in education is crucial, and knowledge is very important. However I personally think that establishing positive relationships with students holds greater significance. Knowledge provides teachers with the expertise they need, but student engagement creates trust, emotional support and a positive classroom culture to students

One of the reasons why teachers should prioritize getting along with students is building trust. To be specific, When teachers build friendship and mutual respect with the students, they will feel more comfortable finding guidance and participating during class. Therefore, trust between students and teachers promotes wider communication which leads to a deeper understanding and knowledge.

In addition, Positive teacher-student relationships with students also provide more emotional support and improve student health. To be specific, when students feel they are cared for, they will develop a sense of belonging, which may improve student motivation and self-confidence. For instance, when a teacher listens carefully and provides support to the student, It will create a safe environment for students to grow academically and emotionally

Admittedly, possessing knowledge is essential for teachers since they play an important role teaching students. However, building positive relationships with students is much more important. Student engagement creates trust, emotional support and a positive classroom culture to students. I cogently believe that teachers should focus on getting along with students to ensure a more educational experience.